Thrift Haul #1


A lot of Filipinos, from lower to upper class, loves shopping at Ukay-Ukay stores (Thrift stores) because of the great bargains they could find like finding high end items, sometimes unused and still tagged. I remember spotting a Versace pants when I visited Magarbo. Unfortunately, the piece was small for me.

Last week, I went to Iloilo City and visited Magarbo to find clothes for work. Guess what I found? An unused and tagged Marks&Spencer  long-sleeved shirt for Php 100 only!  Such a steal! The store sells all their items for 100 bucks each. A little much for a thrifted  clothing though. The shirt has metallic gold detailing. :-)

The following day was our market day because there was an ukay-ukay sale. Actually, it’s being held every week. I went to the market and browsed the area. Then I spotted a seller which sells tops for only Php 10 each. As a thrifty person, of course I did’t let the offer pass. I got 5 pieces but I gave one to my mother because it was big for me.

I wasn’t able to take a picture of the fourth shirt because it was on the laundry. :-) This last piece below was also bought on the same place but in another time. This was sold for 40 bucks only because my mother bargained the price. This is my favorite purchase! <3

I’m happy with the items I got and really satisfied. Not all of my clothes are from Ukay-Ukay stores. Before I end this post, I will be sharing you some tips about thrifting.

  • Choose items which are in good condition and clean. Most stains cannot be removed so it’s safe to buy clean clothes.
  • Check the brands because you can jackpot signature pieces. Some of them are still tagged.
  • Dig and dig. That’s the biggest secret. :-)
  • Before washing the clothes, soak them first in hot water with laundry soap/powder to remove bacteria and unpleasant smell.

Do you thrift clothes too? Where do you usually buy? Hit me a comment to answer. By the way, I have a personal blog, if you are interested visit: Circle Chick  Talk to you soon. Have a nice day! :-D

2 thoughts on “Thrift Haul #1

  1. Been a fan of ukay-ukay too back in college… you’ll surely get some good stuff when you’re super patient in browsing through all those racks! :)

Leave a Reply

